Clean Air Act (CAA), 1970

United States of America Current 1970

The Clean Air Act (CAA) combats a variety of air pollution problems and tackles emerging pollution threats. It requires the EPA to establish national ambient air quality standards for certain common and widespread pollutants based on the latest science. EPA has set air quality standards for six common “criteria pollutants”: particulate matter (also known as particle pollution), ozone, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen dioxide, carbon monoxide, and lead. In 1990 the Act was revised to curb four major threats to environment and human health: acid rain, urban air pollution, toxic air emissions, and stratospheric ozone depletion. The EPA issues mandatory reporting requirements for emissions from companies / facilities based on the CAA.



Industry sectors covered by the instrument

All/none specified

Organizations covered by the instrument

Large companies (listed & unlisted)

Issuer type


Type of instrument


Mandatory or voluntary


The geographical scope


Project Partners