Back to overview

Amended Clean Air Act (CAA) of 1970

United States of America Current 1990

The Federal Clean Air Act (FCAA) is the federal law passed in 1970, and last amended in 1990, which forms the basis for the national air pollution control effort. Basic elements of the act include national ambient air quality standards for major air pollutants, hazardous air pollutants standards, state attainment plans, motor vehicle emissions standards, stationary source emissions standards and permits, acid rain control measures, stratospheric ozone protection, and enforcement provisions.

Issuer name

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Government ministry


More information

Among other things, this law authorizes EPA to establish National Ambient Air Quality Standards to protect public health and public welfare and to regulate emissions of hazardous air pollutants. The setting of these pollutant standards was coupled with directing the states to develop state implementation plans (SIPs), applicable to appropriate industrial sources in the state, in order to achieve these standards.

Organizations covered by the instrument

Public organizations / agencies

Target organization notes

Stationary source or group of stationary sources that emit or have the potential to emit 10 tons per year or more of a hazardous air pollutant or 25 tons per year or more of a combination of hazardous air pollutants.

Industry scope

All/none specified

Disclosure venue

data disclosure

ESG coverage - E (Environment)

Materials & Resource Efficiency (circularity), Pollution, Climate & GHG emissions




United States of America


North America

Date of publication


Issuer type

Governments (governmental department, agency)

Reporting requirements

Public law and regulation

Mandatory or voluntary


The geographical scope


Go to the instrument